OLH tracksters advance to state - hccommunityjournal.com: Sports

OLH tracksters advance to state

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, April 27, 2019 12:00 am

BASTROP – Our Lady of the Hills' reformation of its track and field teams paid dividends at the TAPPS regional meet in Bastrop on Friday as the Hawks qualified for state meet competition in three relays, plus an individual event.

A top four finish sends qualifiers to the TAPPS State Track and Field Meet to be held in Waco on May 3-4.

Davis Clifton, Banks Burrows, Matthew Romero, and James Ibarra finished first in the 4x200 relay.

In the 4x400 event Luke Martinez, Ibarra, Cody Davis, and Clifton finished second.

The 4x100 team of Martinez, Ibarra, Wyatt Krause, and Hunter Taylor placed third.

Martinez got third in the 400 meters.

Taylor just missed when he placed fifth in both the triple jump, and 110 hurdles.

Clifton finished sixth in the 400.

For the Lady Hawks, Suzanna Bridges placed sixth in the 300 hurdles, and seventh in the 100 hurdles while Fey Jung placed 8th in the 800, 1600, and 3200 meters.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.


  • Charles Kelln posted at 3:12 am on Wed, Jun 12, 2019.

    Charles Kelln Posts: 1

    I am being thankful to you for showing such detailed information about the latest regional sporting event. All the sandgatewriters delivered an excellent information but I am sad due to the near miss of Taylor.

  • David Isaksen posted at 6:14 am on Mon, Jun 10, 2019.

    David Isaksen Posts: 1

    I am happy for the Davis Clifton, Banks Burrows, Matthew Romero, and James Ibarra who won the 4*200 relay race. Thanks to Myessaysdone for the great work experience. All of these four were determined to win and they actually did it. I was also expecting this win from them too.